This eBook has been formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Of Time and the River is an autobiographical novel, the continuation of the story of Eugene Gant, detailing his early and mid-twenties. During that time Eugene attends Harvard University, moves to New York City, teaches English at a university there, and travels overseas with his friend Francis Starwick.

Author ,
Isbn 802724434X
Genre Fiction
Year 2018-11-02
Pages 992
Language English
File format PDF

Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books. To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map. When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place. Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Author Mark Smylie
Isbn 1616148926
Genre ,
Year 2014-03-04
Pages 607
Language English
File format PDF

Collecting Fantastic Four (2018) #1-4. The wait is over! The Thing, the Human Torch, the Invisible Woman and Mister Fantastic — the first four heroes of the Marvel Age of Comics — are about to be reunited! Experience the grand return of the greatest family in the Marvel Universe! As an event occurs that will radically alter the Fantastic Four, Reed and Sue Richards return home with their children. But things have changed! And while Alicia Masters and the Thing ponder a big change of their own, the next chapter begins in the life of Victor Von Doom! Plus: Who are the Marvel Universe’s newest fabulous foursome — the Fantastix?! How did they come into possession of the Baxter Building? And what does that mean for the original FF? The World’s Greatest Comic Magazine is back — and better than ever!

Author Dan Slott
Isbn 1302510088
Genre Comics & Graphic Novels
Year 2019-03-06
Pages 136
Language English
File format PDF

This new work surveys how rapid changes taking place at the start of the twenty-first century in social, cultural, political and economic domains impact on sexuality, health and human rights. The relationships between men, women and children are changing quickly, as are traditional family structures and gender norms. What were once viewed as private matters have become public, and an array of new social movements – transgender, intersex, sex worker, people living with HIV – have come into the open. The book is split into three sections: Global ‘Sex’ Wars – discusses the notion of sexualities, its political landscapes internationally, and the return of religious fervour and extremism Epistemological Challenges and Research Agendas – examines modern ‘scientific’ understandings of sexuality, its history and the way in which AIDS has drawn attention to sexuality The Promises and Limits of Sexual Rights – discusses human rights approaches to sexuality, their strengths and limitations and new ways of imagining erotic justice Offering a unique framework for understanding this new world, set in the context of the major theoretical debates of recent decades, this book will be of interest to professionals, advocates and policy researchers and is suitable for a wide range of courses covering areas such as gender studies, human sexuality, public health and social policy.

Author Sonia Corrêa,Rosalind Petchesky,Richard Parker
Isbn 1134266669
Genre Medical
Year 2008-08-18
Pages 320
Language English
File format PDF

Alex Alice's Castle in the Stars: A Frenchman on Mars is the fourth volume in a lavishly illustrated graphic novel series set in a world where space exploration began during the Victorian era. As Seraphin, Hans, and Sophie make their descent to the Mars surface—with stowaway Loïc and the wicked Gudden in tow—they’re prepared for danger. But with its gravity-defying rain and giant carnivorous beasts, Mars is even more treacherous than they expected. When Seraphin suddenly finds himself separated from his friends and alone in the Martian wilderness, he must trust a mysterious shape-shifting creature to guide him back to safety. But this creature has an agenda of their own.

Author Alex Alice
Isbn 1250805090
Genre Juvenile Fiction
Year 2020-09-08
Pages 64
Language English
File format PDF

Book 4 of the Electric Series Now that Volt and I are together, my life is complete. When I first met him, he wasn't what I was looking for. Harsh. Argumentative. And unavailable. But now, he's everything I ever could have dreamed of. My parents have met him, and of course they love him. But now my best friend since childhood needs to meet the man I'm going to marry. I just hope she loves him as much as I do.

Author E. L. Todd
Isbn
Genre Fiction
Year 2016-10-11
Pages 350
Language English
File format PDF

“Viciously compelling! Addison Cain's writing blows me away each time!” -NYT Bestselling author Anna Zaires I shall adore her until my dying breath. I’ll lie to her, coddle her—offer Sigil her every heart’s desire. I will give her the child she craves. The last female of our species is my obsession, my love… my only reason for what shall be an utterly bloody galactic war. Publisher's Note: The first book in Addison Cain's exciting, raw, and suspense-filled Irdesi Empire series is a Reverse Harem Dark Romance featuring complete power exchange. If such material offends you, please do not purchase. Keywords: Space Opera Romance, polyamory, ménage, possessive alpha male dark romance, Dark romance, psychological romance, gothic romance, paranormal romance, dystopian, dystopian romance, complete power exchange, seductive romance, A/B/O, Alpha Omega. Alpha Hero, Antihero, antihero romance, antihero dark romance, Suffering Heroine, Obsessive Hero, abduction to love, Abuse of Power, beauty and the beast, blackmail, passionate lovers, tortured heroine, tragic past, unrequited love, virgin, sexually romantic books, series, romantic suspense, collections, anthologies, jealous possessive romance, forbidden romance, hunted female, angsty alpha romance

Author Addison Cain
Isbn 0998676705
Genre Fiction
Year 2017-03-15
Pages N.A
Language English
File format PDF

After its succès de scandale in France in 1856, Flaubert's Madame Bovary was widely adapted, sometimes so closely they were dismissed as plagiarism yet they achieved canonical status in their national traditions. This study traces Madame Bovary's journey abroad and asks why the novel was given such import in foreign literatures.

Author E. Amann
Isbn 0312376146
Genre Literary Criticism
Year 2006-12-11
Pages 277
Language English
File format PDF

A History of Caricature and Grotesque in Literature and Art This will explain why my history of the different branches of popular literature and art ends at very different periods. The grotesque and satirical sculpture, which adorned the ecclesiastical buildings, ceased with the middle ages. The story-books, as a part of this social literature, came down to the sixteenth century, and the history of the jest-books which arose out of them cannot be considered to extend further than the beginning of the seventeenth; for, to give a list of jest-books since that time would be to compile a catalogue of books made by booksellers for sale, copied from one another, and, till recently, each more contemptible than its predecessor. The school of satirical literature in France, at all events as far as it had any influence in England, lasted no longer than the earlier part of the seventeenth century. England can hardly be said to have had a school of satirical literature, with the exception of its comedy, which belongs properly to the seventeenth century; and its caricature belongs especially to the last century and to the earlier part of the present, beyond which it is not a part of my plan to carry it.

Author Thomas Wright
Isbn
Genre Caricature
Year 1976
Pages 550
Language English
File format PDF

Early in 1788, Franz Anton Mesmer, a Viennese physician, arrived in Paris and began to promulgate a somewhat exotic theory of healing that almost immediately seized the imagination of the general populace. Robert Darnton, in his lively study of mesmerism and its relation to eighteenth-century radical political thought and popular scientific notions, provides a useful contribution to the study of popular culture and the manner in which ideas are diffused down through various social levels.

Author Robert DARNTON
Isbn 0674030192
Genre Business & Economics
Year 2009-06-30
Pages 232
Language English
File format PDF

Casual stargazers are familiar with many classical figures and asterisms composed of bright stars (e.g., Orion and the Plough), but this book reveals not just the constellations of today but those of yesteryear. The history of the human identification of constellations among the stars is explored through the stories of some influential celestial cartographers whose works determined whether new inventions survived. The history of how the modern set of 88 constellations was defined by the professional astronomy community is recounted, explaining how the constellations described in the book became permanently “extinct.” Dr. Barentine addresses why some figures were tried and discarded, and also directs observers to how those figures can still be picked out on a clear night if one knows where to look. These lost constellations are described in great detail using historical references, enabling observers to rediscover them on their own surveys of the sky. Treatment of the obsolete constellations as extant features of the night sky adds a new dimension to stargazing that merges history with the accessibility and immediacy of the night sky.

Author John C. Barentine
Isbn 3319227955
Genre Science
Year 2015-10-23
Pages 506
Language English
File format PDF